Paleo Stuffed Peppers

I was just thinking in the shower (why is it I do my best thinking there and then when I get out, it’s like “what was I just thinking?”); anyway, I don’t have a good recipe (surprise!) for Paleo Stuffed Peppers so I’m trying to come up with one in my head. Here is what I have so far:

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 lb hamburger meat (80/20 mix)
  2. 1/2 lb ground sausage
  3. 1-2 eggs for binding
  4. Some grated carrots (maybe 1/2 – 1 cup)
  5. Chopped onion
  6. Chopped bell pepper
  7. Almond flour (start with about 1/4 – 1/2 cup)
  8. Salt, pepper & seasonings to taste
  9. Oh, and some pizza sauce I made the other night for a zing on top maybe

Instructions

  1. Mix the meats together in a big bowl with some seasonings (salt, pepper, cajun seasoning, garlic powder, etc.)
  2. Saute the onions, bell pepper & carrots in a little olive oil or coconut oil until almost done, let cool
  3. Mix the sautéed veggies in with the meat, add the eggs & almond flour until it feels right (almost like a meatloaf I’m thinking)
  4. Stuff the peppers, add some of the sauce on top & bake at 350º until done (you may want to preheat your oven as step #1)

Sounds like it should turn out ok, right? I’m going to try them tonight & I’ll let you know how they taste (unless they are really bad, then I’ll just delete this whole post – ha!).

No link – just out of my head.

 

Update

These turned out really good! I did not use chopped bell pepper inside since we only had 4 peppers left for stuffing and I didn’t saute the onions, just put them in raw & they cooked with no problem. I used 1/2 lb each of the meats and a little over 1/4 cup of almond flour with 2 eggs. The grated carrots in there went well with them. They gave the stuffing some bulk & chewiness. I used 4 regular carrots that were pretty thin. And I added some of the pizza sauce (a little over 1/2 cup) into the meat, then added a dollop on top after cooking the peppers for 45 min. Before putting the peppers into the oven, I poured about a cup of water into the bottom of the corning ware pot so the bottoms didn’t burn. I totally forgot my seasonings, but just added a little salt and pepper at the table & that was fine.

Leave a Reply

