Spicy Parsnip Wedges

The first time I tried these, I sat them down in front of some friends that were over for a BBQ, came back 5 minutes later and they were gone; I mean, to the last crumb. There weren’t that many, so since then, I’ve doubled the recipe if we have anyone else over for dinner. This recipe came from FastPaleo.com which has lots and lots and lots of recipes. You can get lost in there for weeks on end. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Cooking time: 20 minutes; Serves: 2 (or maybe only 1 – just sayin’)

Ingredients

  1. 3 large parsnips, peeled and cut into wedges (this is one vegetable that I always peel because they taste “woody” to me if I don’t)
  2. 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  3. 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  4. 1 clove garlic, minced
  5. 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  6. 1 teaspoon paprika
  7. 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (be sure and look at the label before adding because it looks exactly like paprika from the back, trust me)
  8. 3 tablespoons coconut oil

Instructions

  1. Put the wedges in a bowl, pour over the coconut oil and stir until they are well coated.
  2. Sprinkle over the rest of the ingredients and give it a final stir. (Instead of those two steps, I combine the spices & oil then pour it over the parsnips in a recloseable baggie and then kind of smash them around so they get coated well).
  3. Transfer to a greased or lined baking tray. (Parchment paper is your friend here.)
  4. Bake at 400ºF for 25-30 minutes until they are soft and nicely golden.

My Variation

I do 1/2 & 1/2 of parsnips and carrots. They take about the same time to bake & are really good together.

Direct link: http://fastpaleo.com/spicy-parsnip-wedges/

Leave a Reply

